mia computer
Friday, Aug. 08, 2003 - 7:21 pm

random thought: why is airborne express such a freakin pain in my ass?


ok, so i called my school again this morning, lisa wasn't there, but i talked to dee, the supervisor and she couldnt find my computer. she said, as i thought, that they sent it back. so i call dell. i talk to some woman who is trying to help me and she says that the server is down and she cant check with the repair depot. she takes my phone number and says she'll call me back when the server is back up. "and what time would you like me to call you back?" she says. "AS SOON AS THE SERVER COMES BACK UP" i say. "you'll be at this number all day?" "yes," i say "just call me as soon as you can. fine - so this was at like 9:30. so i wait until 2... i still havent heard from them. so i try calling again. i get a different guy and he says they're having trouble with the server being slow (but no mention that he can't look anything up... that bitch). he tells me that records show that my computer was sent back to the depot. ARG. fine, so he gives me the number for the depot and says that i should set up a delivery time with them. GREAT! i'm starting to get my hopes up. so i call the depot number and get joe. joe's cool. except he cant find my computer again. i tell him about this other guy i talked to (didnt get his name - GAH!) and how he said that the depot is now in possession of my computer. he's trying to look it up on the slow server and he's not getting anything. so he calls airborne. their last record was of sending it to my college and of lisa ellerman signing for it. so he makes our call three-way with the airborne lady who tells me the same thing. so they set up for an airborne guy to go to my college on monday (when lisa will be back) and talk to them to see if it's there. grrrr... whatever, as long as i dont have to drive out there. so joe and i get a tracking number that will be activated if the computer is picked up in carlisle. fine, so when airborne lady gets off the three way, i ask joe hypothetically (which i know is actually reality) what would have happened to my computer had my college sent it back. he says it would have been returned to the depot, the depot would have put it in a queue and would have then looked up the owner's information and called to arrange another delivery. well thats good at least. so fine, i hang up. about two minutes later the phone rings - it's joe. "i think i have semi-good news!" he says. wow. ok. "yeah?" ok - my semi-good news is that he THINKS he found record of my computer arriving at the austin tx repair depot (my computer was repaired at the tennesee depot). "ok... so now what" well, he says that texas sent it to tennesee on august 7 (yesterday), and it should arrive in tennesee in 3-5 business days. THEN tennesee will contact me and arrange to ship it to me at my correct address. i told him they damn well better not send it back to fucking carlisle. he then told me that should this be false information (ie some dumbass mistyped the codes), or should something happen to my computer that it would be replaced. well, it better be replaced with something better than it was for all this shit i'm going through! i want some kind of compensation. i'm just glad i'm not in school suffering without a laptop for this long... of course had i been at school, i would have had my computer on july 31st... or if they had accidentally sent it to my home address, my mother would not have sent it back. ARG - freakin airborne express using my wrong address! BAH HUMBUG! or something.

i have more to write... but not right now. perhaps later. when my carpal tunnel is subsiding... not really, but i feel as though i might develop it sometime in my future... most definitely.