2003 in review
Tuesday, Jan. 20, 2004 - 1:40 am

random thought: we're gonna party like it's 1999!


i just realized that i never did my year in review thing that i said i was going to do in my 50th entry. damn. ok, so year in review... here we go...

new years 2003, i recall being freshly moved into the current apartment with the dogs, who of course barked their hearts out at the fireworks. cubee even gave me a kiss... albeit a couple hours late, but close enough! yay! that was a good start to the year.

next, i remember jeffery shank's unfortunate demise. he got a little too drunk on a snowy, slippery night and had an accident that no one should have to endure accidentally. alas... these things happen... most likely for a reason.

then we had that huge valentine's weekend snow storm. that caused cube to stay in carlisle a day later than he intended. not that i minded at all. it was hellish to navigate and we wound up digging out his car multiple times. not exactly the most fun, but it was spent with my cubee!

then what, spring break i did nothing memorable, april my roommate and i started figuring out we had differences that were interferring with our being friendly. by may i was done... i avoided sad sloppy goodbyes by promising everyone i'd come back for graduation. i completely intended to do so... but then the day came and went and i never remembered. oops.

that quickly brings me to the summer... where i kept up the house and played with the dogs. i kept telling myself i was going to start writing my thesis, but i never did. i turned 21 uneventfully. i did nothing at midnight. i went to no bar, saw no friends. the next day i went to brunch on the beach and then got my first drink in a restaurant... outback, wallaby darned. i contemplated what wonderful material things i should buy with my birthday money. i wound up buying the watch. i found a new coach bag i like better since then, glad i didn't buy that one. still dont have the tiffany bracelet. one of these days. just recalling that time makes me feel like i'm so materialistic. like every time i go shopping and i stop in the purse section and the shoe section, even tho i want practically everything i see, i don't always buy it. every once in a while i'll splurge and buy something, haha. probably too often anyway, but i love it!

anyway, then it was cube's birthday, i got him a hot outfit. hehe. then it was time to go back to school! i was happy to see all my friends again, but i did NOT want to work on my thesis. the first couple nights i'm back at school, i learn of the death of jason mellor... my childhood friend and classmate from first grade to 12th. tragedy already prominent in my young generation... too close to home.

by october, i knew that the thesis was going to piss me off more than i could imagine. my photography class was still fun tho, that made it better.

before thanksgiving i actually did it! i wrote half my thesis the day before it was due! (and then i got a B on it). so during thanksgiving i could actually relax, enjoy the free time... concentrate on photography. but not until we partied, that's for sure! we had a few great parties throughout the semester, we'll have better ones next semester.

then of course my computer died. i just come back from class and it's dead. no response. and of course, my photography project is on it. yeah. so now i'm photo-less for my final project, i am forced to go out and take new pictures, compose new works. fun! thank god the professor let me have some slack and i was allowed to extend my due date until january. so of course that meant i didn't work on it until absolutely necessary. i also learned of the death of marc hobbs, another childhood friend and classmate. his sudden unexplained death was not fun to deal with.

winter break was soon upon us and i was the second from our apartment to go home. it was good to get home. i needed the time off. then it was christmas, got some pretty cool gifts. and then my mom's birthday, but she was sick for the whole thing. oh well.

then it's new years eve again, i tried to contact people to see if anyone was doing anything. turns out cube and i went to a party at his classmate's house from high school. he was having a huge bash. said he invited anyone and everyone. the criteria to enter was "if you know my name, or my sister's name, you can come in" haha. even his parents and his dogs were partying. it was fun. it was just a shame that cube couldn't drink. maybe next year we'll be able to actually spend midnight together.

that brings us to 2004. so 2003 wasn't half bad i suppose. wasn't exactly the best either. oh well. here's to 2004!!! the year that i graduate college!!! a year that will be imprinted on my mind.