car troubles
Sunday, Mar. 27, 2005 - 9:42 am

random thought: cars... who needs them?


Happy Easter!

well... this has been an interesting week. cubee was home for his spring break the week of the 13th and he came over to stay at my place that weekend, the 19th and 20th. unfortunately, when he was ready to leave sunday afternoon, his car wouldn't start. figures, right? well, we spent like half an hour to an hour trying to jump his car with mine and it just wasn't working. blah. but he was going to a papa roach concert that night, so he really needed to get back up to school. so i gave in and let him take my car. so this whole last week i've been carless. which sucks majorly. but he came back home this weekend in order to fix his car and take it back to school. well, he got home and unplugged one connection in there for one of his gauges and the car started right up.... grrrr. but anyway, he messed with the car a little bit to try to fix that connection or whatever and then... yeah, you guessed it... the car had trouble again. it started, but the battery drained really quickly. so blah. it's dead again. but today is easter so no place is open and he has a job interview tomorrow so he cant stick around until we can take it somewhere. so unfortunately he took my car again.

that brings me to the next problem. about three months ago, i took my car to the local honda for my routine oil change and maintenance checkup. and when i picked up my car, all the money i had in my car was missing. i have a little arm rest between the two front seats and the top lifts up to reveal a storage space. i had that space virtually filled with change i'd gotten throughout the years that i would use when i needed to go on the turnpike or over the bridge or something i needed change for. well, all that change was gone. it's been there for years of me taking the car to this honda place and then all of a sudden it was gone. those bastards. but of course their defense was "we clearly state in the paperwork you sign that you should remove all valuables from your vehicle" bastards. so i refuse to take my car back there now. ANYWAY, so this time i took my car to midas for everything. and they told me that one of my tires is getting bad and needs to be replaced, but that it's not an immediate problem. he also said my rear brakes look new, but one side is worn more than the other which could be indicating an alignment problem and that i should bring it back when i get the chance and have that checked out more thoroughly. ok. so when cubee brings my car back this weekend, he tells me my car is making all kinds of funny noises. when the car is backing up it make a really loud kind of squeal. and then when it's just going forward normally it makes a high pitch more quiet sound. fantastic. but in the mean time... cubee needs to get back to school so i can't do anything. grrrr. but hopefully the car will be ok for another week until i can get his car fixed and drive up there and reclaim my own car. it's really starting to get me worried because yeah, my car is older, but it's been working fine... i'm really worried someone is going to tell me that my car is just too old and needs to be scrapped. because i cannot afford a new car right now. it's only a 94... that's not too too old. but it has 130k miles on it. whoever had it before me used it to go back and forth to a fairly far away college and then i did too... so it's got lots of milage. craziness. although i do think my mom's car is paid off now, so i'd be able to afford at least a newer used car with her help. of course she has been talking about buying a new car, so i could always just take hers. there's really nothing wrong with her car. hers is a 98. i wouldnt really enjoy that though. its a saturn. i dont like saturns. blah. there's nothing wrong with it really, but the front window is really small and i like that my car has the moon roof and the cd player. ha. i know, beggars cant be choosers. i'll cross that bridge when and if i get to it.

so yeah, life has been interesting. we'll see what this coming week brings.