pink hair
Saturday, Aug. 06, 2005 - 11:43 pm

random thought: the only thing on my mind right now is pink... literally


went and got my hair done a couple days ago. apparently a big mistake. i've been going to this one place for almost a year now and i love the guy that does my hair. i'm always in love with the cut and the color. well, this time he asked if i'd like to stick with my usual blonde/carmel or if i'd like to do something a little less bright for fall. so i told him that was probably a good idea and that i liked the red color he put in the last time (he did some auburn lowlights). ok. well, when they put the die on your hair, it's day-glo colors anyway... so i'm sitting there with bright red and bright yellow inside bright silver tin foil... i look great! haha. anyway, so i sit there for the 20 minutes and get a good shampooing and then it's off to the chair where i get my hair cut. and i see it. my hair is still soaking wet and i can see red already. so now i'm getting nervous. so i pick up a chunk and say to the guy, "wow, that's really red already, isn't it." but now i'm thinking back to when i was looking at a magazine while he was painting my head... he was talking about how people come in there all the time and ask for red and when he dies their hair, they freak out and dont want it and he responds with, "well, that's what you asked for!" so now i feel intimidated to say that i hate it, so i suck it up and walk out of there looking like a teeny-bopper-punk-rocker-early-gwen-stefani-wanna-be. by the time my mom comes home from work and i try to explain the events to her, i'm broken down to tears. oy. so she demands i go back there and get it fixed - for free - and i'm still scared he's going to hate me. i sleep on it. in the morning, when i wake to find my sheets stained a lovely shade of magenta thanks to my hair, i decide to think up a story of how my boss completely freaked out when i showed up for the night shift the night before with my hair all pink and wonderfully punky. so i do just that and what do you know, it works. he tells me that he can try to squeeze me in right then, but he's booked back to back and that the next day he has a whole block of time he'd be able to spend with me. no prob - i'll come back. so i show up today and he goes ahead and puts brown over all the red streaks telling me the brown with kinda cancel out the red and tone it down and make it more natural looking. i believe him. he's always been awesome in the past, why shouldn't i think he wouldn't be awesome right then. ok. so i sit there again and then get another shampooing and sit in my chair. i stare as close as i can without looking too obvious and can't see any red - phew. but then he whips out the hairdryer. ok... now i can see a huge chunk of red still on the side of my race... and what's better yet is that all the other red spots are gone. yes - gone. BUT replaced with purple. thank goodness (i'm being serious this time) it's a dark purple and not lavender or something.

anyway, i've already made an appointment with another stylist who said that she can fix it. hopefully she can. but i'm not going to let her intimidate me. if i hate what she does - she's going to know about it. i will NOT live with this pink and purple hair for my usual 3 months between highlighting sessions.