2005 in review
Sunday, Feb. 05, 2006 - 9:44 pm

random thought: Happy New Year! ...a month late


yeah, I know it's February... but the year in review still needs to be done, haha. I just kind of forgot what I was doing. OOPS. on with it.

I rang in the new year in NYC, far FAR away from the ball. We saw it drop... sort-if. By about 10 seconds, we couldn't see it anymore, but everyone was counting and it was fun. I had a good time and so did cubee.

In February I left my teaching job for a marketing position that I liked for a whopping two seconds. I wrote about how much I liked it and quit a couple days later. It was a huge pyramid scam and the people there were crazy. Definitely not my scene, but hooray for anyone who loves that. More power to you. I also went to visit Cube at school and spent the weekend with him. He took me out to dinner for Valentine's Day and everything. Although we almost missed out on eating there, haha. But we made it and it was a good night.

March brought Cube a lot of car trouble. Which in turn brought me car trouble. It was not a happy time.

I went to visit my alma mater in April. It was strange and good all at the same time. I still haven't been back, I really need to go back. Soon. I also picked up Kabbalah, which I'm still keeping up with, which is nice. And I got a temp job with McGraw Hill grading standardized tests where I met Nicole and Bruce, two new great friends.

In May, Cubee graduated college and I was sad that I couldn't be there to support him, but at the same time, graduations are always really boring, so it's probably fine. We also went on our 4th annual shore trip for Memorial Day. It was an awesome weekend.

In June, my aunt and cousins moved to North Carolina. It was a terrible time. I miss them like crazy, but I know I'm just being silly... they're not dead, just further away.

July brough Live8 to the world. Cube and I went to Philly and watched it on a big TV. HaHa. Nicole and her beau, Lamarr were there too, but we were about a million people apart. Oh well. I turned 23... I took the day off work and Cube brought me to the Camden Aquarium and to Benihanna's for dinner. It was a great day, I had fun. Cube got me an mp3 player too, a Zen Micro. SO cute!

August was a MESS. My temp job ended. My stylist completely ruined my hair color. I went down to NC to visit my aunt and cousins (which was the only good thing that happened). The month was capped off with a car accident and a relationship problem.

In September, Cube and I marked our 6th anniversary... even though I was still feeling like shit. The two of us went out to the QVC studios to see Jessica Simpson (which turned out to be a few days before they announced their break-up). We also went to MD for Cube's job interview. And I got a job where I am now.

By October Cube got a job offer from MD and we thought we were moving. BUT by November he had an offer from a place in Princeton and took that instead. I went down to my Aunt and Uncle's house in VA for an early Thanksgiving and my Aunt and cousins came up from NC to celebrate with us.

December brought the Holiday season and Christmas, which was nice. Cube and I had a good one. I had the week between Christmas and New Year's off and Cube took time off work and went on a snowboarding trip. Which allowed us to have a couple of nights together, which we hadn't done since May. And then this year, Cube and I spent New Year's Eve at my place. We rented a movie and had some drinks and rang in the new year in the comfort of my bedroom.

Overall, it was an interesting year, but nothing extraordinary. It was a bad year for Cube and I, but hopefully 2006 will be great. A bad dress rehearsal means a great show, right? So maybe last year was rehearsal for this year? Please? Haha.